2008: A Year in Review. of sorts

As I went through my old posts to do a simple Year In Review (basically taking the Title and First line from the first post of each month), one question kept crossing my mind: I write some dang good stuff! And everyone and their brother and mother and dog should be reading my blog. ;0)

These obviously aren’t my best posts, but it was fun to scroll through and be reminded of the events that took place over 2008.

If you’ve been reading me throughout the year – thank you for putting up with me. I’ve grown to love each of you for your encouragement and for “just being you” with me.

For my new readers – welcome! I can’t wait to get to know you! And if you really want to know more about me, this is a good place to start.

Here’s to an amazing 2009!

January 2008

WhatThe?! Week 5

Leave your guess in the comments.

WhatThe?! is the now defunct contest that I used to hold on my blog… there was no grand fanfare; no closing ceremony, no crying… it just sort of faded away as things got busier and busier for me.

I enjoyed running the contest, but it was so hard tracking down the people who won each month. I cringe when I think of the people who didn’t hear from me (GREAT BIG “L” on my forehead). And the response to it was rather… ummm lacking… (thank you, my 3 loyal participants)

February 2008

Not An Episode of Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous

Two years ago this week, we moved to Tennessee.

I still love reflecting on this time of my life. So much was learned and it’s never far from my mind. And I am also so thankful to be out of that apartment.

March 2008

Portraits of Women

I love looking at paintings in galleries.

This video amazed me. But as I looked at it again, I couldn’t help but notice how much our definition of beauty changes over time.

April 2008

WhatThe?! Week 17

Want a chance to win some super fab jewelry?

see January above.

May 2008

Capturing Motherhood in a Photo

I adore this photo.

Where has the time gone… seriously. I entered this photo in a contest that wanted to see photos that captured motherhood. This photo speaks this to me in volumes. I’ve now got it framed and sitting by my bed.

June 2008

Drink the Coffee [or else]

Few things earn an eye-roll from me more than stupidity issues that provoke silly behavior that gets worked up into stupidity silly behavior and craziness.

The dust up of Rachel Ray wearing a SCRAF caused me to take up the cause and post about other offensive scarves. [eyeroll]

July 2008

WhatThe?! Week 30

Want a chance to win a blog button for promoting your blog?

Dang there were a lot of months in 2008 that started on a Thursday! (the day the contest went up each week)

This particular WhatThe?! photo caused me a TON of embarrassment. tons. I addressed it here.

August 2008

Q&A Frump Style

So I’ve got some questions for you.

And people actually replied!! I have missed doing fashion and beauty posts – I will have to get back into the swing of those. But again – no one participates. So is it worth it?

September 2008

Where you’ll find me

As mentioned previously, my kids and personal hygiene have been neglected for the past week.

This was the relaunch of Blissfully Domestic, from its humble original beginnings, to its new fancy digs. So much work went into and we learned a lot about what it really takes. But the end result was fabulous. (and then we all slept for a month)

October 2008

No Wonder I look Like a Hag

Text above:

Wow – what an exciting way to start a post. Actually – this was a post in a series of vintage ads that I posted. I have several more where that came from. Advertising and manufacturing takes some freaky creepy directions at times.

November 2008

*original post removed*

We’ve started something new and fun over at Blissfully Domestic: a linky post where you can add your posts from the prior week – share your favorite tips, your cute crafty idea… anything that is Blissfully Domestic related.

We are always thinking of fun exciting ways to expand Blissfully Domestic. 2009 shows no signs of slowing down either.

December 2008

So This Girl Walks into a Blog and Makes a Big Announcement

While it may appear as though I’ve been missing on the blogging scene – the truth is that I have had my hands ALL OVER it; just in the background.

This was a big huge fat deal for me. I launched my first big solo blogging adventure! I have huge plans for ModernMediaMom.com in 2009. Be sure to give me your feedback and what you would like to see me write about. I want it to be a useful site.

I can’t wait to see what 2009 holds. Here’s to new friendships, true friends and living life together.

Comments

  1. Sandy Toes says:

    Happy New Year to you! Wishing you a great 2009 and looking forward to blogging with you!
    -sandy toes

  2. Happy new year! I love the year in review and your take on it now. Looking forward to a great 2009!

  3. Jen - Balancing beauty and bedlam says:

    It’s fun to see your Year in Review since I only started blogging half way through the year and was “introduced” to you when the Nester stayed at your house for She Speaks…fun to catch up with your year.

  4. texasholly says:

    Yeah! That was fun. I love that photo too. So crazy sweet.

  5. Happy New Year to you!!

  6. Gray Matters says:

    Somehow along the way I lost track of your blog – it was great finding you again and catching up on the things I missed. Now I’ve subscribed so hopefully I won’t miss anymore.

  7. Colleen - Mommy Always Wins says:

    Happy 2009, Karla! Thanks for the links to your older posts – what a cool idea! I was perplexed by “thin gold chains” being out the OUT list til you said the same, and loved the blurry motherhood pic you posted in May.

    All the best to you in this new year – will be seeing you at Blissdom again soon!

Speak Your Mind

*